Fáilte/Welcome | Feedback | Site Maprssfacebookicon
Loading

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown

 
Please click on the links below for an individual highlight.
Marlay House and Estate  
 
 
Marlay House and Estate

Marlay House and Estate

The history of Marlay can be traced back to the twelfth century but the present house owes its origins to Thomas Taylor who acquired the property in 1690 and built a farmhouse on the estate. Parts of the original farmhouse, "The Grange", were incorporated into a later country house built by the La Touche family whose coat of arms can be seen on a large granite urn over the front door. It was the third David La Touche (1729-1817) who renamed the estate Marlay in 1764 and he, and his descendants, continued to develop and improve the grounds well into the nineteenth century. "Laurelmere" began as a charming "cottage orne" whose original thatched roof was captured in ink-and-pencil drawings (1837) attributed to Anne Caroline La Touche (1815-44). The thatched roof was replaced by Robert Tedcastle (1825-1919) who purchased the estate at auction in 1864. The Tedcastles were followed by the Loves who, in turn, sold the estate to the former Dublin County Council in 1972. Marlay Park officially opened in 1975 and boasts as its centrepiece the eighteenth-century Marlay House which has undergone a staged programme of restoration since 1992. View Buildings

Print this page